A Personal Journey To A Career In Tech

A Personal Journey To A Career In Tech

#womenintech

I trace my interest in technology to a childhood passion. My passion came from a place of insight and simplicity. I used to scoff and cringe during my high school years upon hearing that there are not enough women in technology. This made me grow into wanting to understand how information from various sources comes together to form something meaningful. It is my greatest ambition to not only contribute to the field but also to encourage other young women to work in the field of Information and computing.

There are not many women in technology, but there are even a lot fewer African women in technology. I want to inspire young women to pursue careers in the technology field and to be movers and shakers in the ever-growing technology arena. As an African woman, I also plan to share my own experiences in the technology field and its successes.

I derive most of my energy from being surrounded by people. Meeting incredible people has made me view life through a hue and tint of imagination. It is through these tech gatherings that I have managed to answer my endless questions to satisfy my curiosity. I am now conscious that technology was meant for me. There is no mechanical way of learning other than the golden chance of brushing shoulders with people and talking to them. To me, actualizing a dream begins with talking. I have talked to many women I have met and we have shared our interests, what the world lacks, and happenings that affect us in a way.

I always find it incredible to watch how everyone comes together with a huge variety of skills across the whole lifecycle of technology. So if you want to do testing, project management, or to be an engineer, a data scientist, or a service desk analyst – there are genuinely so many different opportunities that could be perfect for you.

My advice for any woman or anyone, interested in a technology career is to not rule yourself out. Take the time to learn about the different paths available, because there’s so much more to technology than coding. Technology is evolving rapidly and will continue to do so, meaning there are infinite possibilities to explore that could positively impact life. And that doesn’t just take coders. It takes all sorts of people, from all walks of life.